The Geek Wall

OMG, the things one forgets. So, back in 2002 I did a life drawing short course at Monash Uni, where i got introduced to charcoal. Until that point I’d never used the stuff.

Introducing THE GEEK WALL:

???????????????????????????????

Ok, that is a photograph of two physical photographs of the geek wall.  2002, all film, baby.

CHARCOAL IS AWESOME. You can get it all over your face and hands and everything, but that’s not the awesome bit, that is the smudging and smearing bit you can do.

So after I did this course I was all ‘hey I’m gonna use charcoal’, plus I was all excited about doing faces. No in a bodgey way, but in a painting drawing kind of way.  I decided to do portraits of my geeky freinds, it just so happened that i decided on doing the guys (I cannot remember why cause frankly all the girls are geeks too). When i was done, I put all the pictures up on the wall of my then-study and called it ‘The Geek Wall’.

???????????????????????????????

The other night I was showing a friend some of my seldom-looked-at stuff  and i found the cache of geek wall pics, which I’d forgotten I had. Here are some of the best. Some I gave away to the people I drew, I notice this cause some on the photograph were not in my cache.

Some of the faces are hopelessly wonky  or a bit warped, and I’ve left out the ones that seriously did not work so well (mabye I’ll do another post titled “getting the drawing right” and stick all those up there), however, these are the rest.

?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

I’m stunned at how young everyone looks. This is i guess 11 years ago.

?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

It was fun getting likenesses of everyone. using one’s finger to smudge really helped to get face shapings.

?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

I scribbled in the shape with willow charcoal, then added more details. I smudged when i got the propertions right, then i would do a final layer of the compressed darker charcoal.

?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

Nathan looking inane, but he was inane in the photograph! hah.

???????????????????????????????

Lucky last but not the least!

Hope you enjoyed.