The Bridge Troll

A new water colour from Moi.

It could be subtitled ‘The Loss of Innocence, The Discarding of the Used’.

On the left of the bridge – youth and innocence. Then the encounter with the Bridge troll, who sucks their will energy, and happiness before discarding the soulless bodies to do whatever they want to do as it no longer cares. They can cross the bridge or sit under it or drown – these things matter not to the bridge troll, who only looks forward and towards the innocent, which it sucks of it’s precious energy.

The Bridge Troll

The Bridge Troll

I tend to use water colour as I would oils – i build up and up, but unlike oils it’s much harder to put the lights back into a water colour picture. Yes, yes, the theory goes you work out what you are doing before you do it, I do not, and cannot, work that way. So i work around it and go in with the light colour at the end where I want the highlights.

I actually used white water colour paint to do highlights on this one, as I really wanted the pustules on the skin to stand out.  I think the Bridge Troll is suitably disgusting, I am happily repulsed by her. You can’t see the details of the spotty skin, crooked teeth, and wiry facial hair and beard but you get the drift. I set out to repulse in this picture, I think I did a good job (most of my monsters are happy nice monsters, this one has an evil soul, and you can tell)