The Ticket Inspectors

I’ve been a busy bee working on my water colours – which i can rest on my lap on those nights I just feel like watching the telly and painting.

The Ticket Inspectors

The Ticket Inspectors

This is the bit of the blog where I say ‘I used to be a ticket inspector’ and a bunch of people go either ‘Totally gnarley!’ or ‘OMG THAT IS NAFF’.

Yes I was – a fresh graduate with Honors in Paleontology and I managed to get into being a Tram Conductor and from then on to the dubiously ‘better’ job of ticket inspector.  It was the nineties, we were in recession, I was fortunate to get any job, in my age group the unemployment rate was over 20%. I was bitter for a while –  but I got over it. That job toughened me up rather a lot and got rid of my feeling of educated entitlement.

It also had it’s moments.

Being spat on and hit and yelled at, not so good. But definitely there were some good moments in there. Shiftwork – both good and bad.

So this is autobiographical – someone having their details taken down  and being told they would be reported and issued a fine. Blue coats and hopefully no abuse or punching (to be fair there was not really a lot of that, and most of it was in the common room with the staff…BOOM TISH!)