Sock Monkeys

As an aside from art, I also like sewing. In particular, I enjoy making sock monkeys.

They are so simple to make. A pair of (new) socks, stuffing, needle and thread, buttons for eyes, and a bit of embroidery thread for a mouth, is all you need.  And time. And basic sewing skills.

It takes me around an hour to do a monkey from start to finish if i do the main sewing on the machine.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Above are some traditional red heel socks (I order them from the US, they come with the pattern on how to make monkeys). If you do a google search for sock monkey, this is the main thing you will see.  These are a lot pricier though than the $2 socks i usually use.

Once you see sock monkeys, you notice them everywhere.

Any pair of socks as long as it has a built in heel (makes the mouth and the bottom) and is not a short sock (the leg bit of the sock makes the monkey’s legs and arms) is appropriate.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

But you can make them out of any socks. Like pink stripy ones. Notice the cat (Baltar, yes named after Gaius from Battlestar Gallactica) is enthralled by this whole process. And the dinosaur fabric the monkey is on is my skirt, I do like dinosaurs.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A green one! The cat is less happy with this one, clearly.

I don’t sell sock monkeys, I make them and give them away. Usually the recipient is pleased. They are fun and tactile.

The monkey chooses the owner. It really has very little to do with me.

People at work are recently a bit nuts on monkeys since i made a few for people, too. I am now going to run a lunch and learn session of making sock monkeys!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A camoflage sock monkey for my army mad mate.

Sock monkeys allow adults to enjoy something totally silly. There is not enough silly in the world. So I approve.

They all turn out a bit wonkey and that is part of their charm. they are all different, too.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I made this monkey for my PT, Steve, notice the dumbbells. I also overstuffed him to give him big muscles.

So sometimes when I need to be creative and I also want a break from painting…MONKEYS!

damein mankey

Geek monkey! 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

HARRRRRRRRRRRRRRGH! a pirate!

almalgomation

Three eyed monkey, vampire french maid monkey, it all went a bit wrong at one point, the monkeys went crazy.  SAMSUNG

Beer monkey

blank monkeys

creepy monkey blanks with no faces yet

amanda

Girly heart love monkey

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

the project monkey (one of the live at work monkeys)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

blue hairy monkey with brooch

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Mardigras monkey

2 responses to “Sock Monkeys

Comments are closed.