There’s a time and a place for that, that’s Collage!

There is a long history of artists taking drugs to help with creativity.  Artists and musicians and religions and anyone of a creative bent have long understood that using various chemical substances can forge new pathways in one’s mind, they open the eyes, they remove current perceptions, they allow personal and other growth.

It strikes me as bizzare that there are still issues with legality of drugs for personal use when all research and literature and studies indicates that the problem of drugs is a moral problem only, not a danger to society, not a physical danger, the crime problem is caused by the solution (making them illegal). Laws bring the crime. Get rid of the laws and you remove the criminal aspect of the drug culture. SEEMS A NO BRAINER.  We live in a society where for some reason the crazy conservatives seem to be in control of policy and laws.
I question the status quo, i raise my eyebrow at moral police, I’m a lateral thinker and it seems bizzare that anyone should have the right to say what a functional adult is allowed to do with their body. I don’t have a problem with drugs, i have a problem with the management and the criminality of drugs. The war is lost, how about we come up with a solution where meddlesome politics and religious groups just sit down, shut up, and start figuring out how to change legislation to stop the moralising and start with the making things safer for those that are interested.

I have found it however a very hard thing to write this post and to admit that I’ve taken various illicit things in the past. I have actually agonized over this post – not cause anything I did was morally wrong but it does sit outside the  current (invalid and unenforcable!) laws.

I am aware that there is a huge section of the population who would go all tight lipped and judgmental if i came out and said ‘of course i bloody took acid’. Of course, my response really to those people is simply : See how many fucks I give? NONE!

They have helped with my art. My brain was going along a path and I opened up a new path and there i was drawing monsters. It was unleashed. It was brilliant. I evolved and changed! I cannot stress how freaking awesome (and at certain times, kind of utterly horrible, nothing like a bad trip) it was, and how utterly glad I am to have done them. More people should do them! but only in a safe environment.

My attitude to drugs these days is very much : be safe if you want to do them, do them only if you have any idea what you’re getting into, and be aware that psychoactive drugs can go wrong on you and you can have a horrible time. I don’t want to go there. That ship has sailed.  I was offered an opportunity recently and I turned it down due to the fact that frankly, they are BORING once you’ve had a few goes – could not have been more disinterested.  I get nothing much out of them other than some hours of staring at stuff and then the next few months of mood swings and paranoia…my days of imbibing anything other than alcohol are in the past.

SO MUCH FOR ME BEING A HORRIBLE CRIMINAL!  Drugs have clearly ruined my life!

There is a really interesting little video about what an artist does on acid here:

 

So some time in the 90s I got hold of a bunch of paper and some charcoal and some friends and various things changed in my head and i drew and drew for 7 hours at a time and got coated with charcoal and came out of it a slightly different – and better- person.

I used to draw a lot, compulsively, before this, however afterwards my stuff changed remarkably, i did less historical ladies and doodles and dragons, and more monsters and ugly stuff. The monsters were always there in my head as a possibility, but acid unleashed them.

I recall at the time drawing once totally sober – monsters and freaky shit, and the comment being made to me ‘…acid would be wasted on you!’.

I agree. It is. I don’t need that shit any more. But I’m so, so, glad I did it, it was life changing.

So here is a series of drawings i did in charcoal on paper, at the end of the 90s.

???????????????????????????????

Two faces. I was obsessed with faces.

???????????????????????????????

I call this one ‘the party’. I like the guy passed out and the other guy vomiting. 🙂

???????????????????????????????

did i mention i was obsessed with eyes and faces.

???????????????????????????????

A portrait of one of my friends smoking a pipe, he had a quilt over him

???????????????????????????????

there are two actual people i based this off, you might recognize their features if you know them!

???????????????????????????????

GIANT LIPS!

???????????????????????????????

Happy manic sheeeeeeep!

???????????????????????????????

Wind woman

???????????????????????????????

Yeah, i’m really into it here. the teeth are falling out.

???????????????????????????????

I like this head but it’s uber creepy

???????????????????????????????

FISH!

???????????????????????????????

SO. There you go. I have a bunch of drawings too that I am really happy to relook at from this time too, I should scan them in and pop them up here too.

 

thing!