Tibet and the few things I painted there

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I always think I’m going to do painting when I’m overseas and I almost never do. I think about it usually but am uninterested in doing any. Sometimes I get some time to myself in somewhere nice – I did these two on a trip to Tibet, I’d been sick of queuing (plane from Melbourne to Bangkok, then Bangkok to Beijing, then Beijing to Xining – and I was very sick of being in lines!). So I drew a queue.

I did this one too which is a sort of local Tibetan woman outfit, I have almost no reference pictures cause it’s a sort of naff thing to do to take pictures of normal people doing their daily business like going on a circuit of a temple.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Tibetan woman with a prayer wheel, this is right outside the Portala palace, overlooking the square where there is a big monument to the ‘liberation’ of Tibet by China.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA