Meeting in the underwater uncanny valley

Meeting in the underwater uncanny valley

Meeting in the underwater uncanny valley

Well it’s kind of Chtulu meets the Queen – and in fact tries to pick up a version of the queen that does not look entirely human. Hence uncanny valley. And everyone who has seen it has vaugely recoiled in horror. And you know what. I’m ok with that.

If I tried to make her more human and less strange I’d mess it up and be repainting it forever. She looks super creepy and not quite right. My next two paintings of the queen are started, i suspect they will end up even creepier than this one, well one of it has an enormous insect in it.  I actually was going for surreal not creepy but I kicked off into creepy.

“He keeps putting his testacles on me!”

“Do you mean tentacles?”
“Is this not the same thing?”
“No!”

Misquote from Better off Dead, one of the few 80s teen movies that is totally awesome today for an adult watching it the first time as it was for a teen in the 80s.