Australia Day

I am so lucky. I get to live in the best place in a time and a culture where I have choices and I’m not prosecuted for doing what I do or thinking what I think or saying what I say.  Australians are lucky in comparison with so many other places (I could spend time talking about that fucknuckle who is our PM who is selling out our rights and freedoms, but I’m not going into that here).

Australia day is today – Jan 26th. It’s a tricky day. Know rightly as Invasion Day as it’s the day we celebrate the start of White Man’s opression and theft from the people who were here for 50,000 years. Known now as Yobbo Day as it’s the day that the dickhead bogan element wave the aussie flag and are offensive and get abusive at ‘foreign’ people for ‘being here’.  You can’t come right out and say ‘I’m pleased I live here, it’s great’ without pointing out it’s got it’s fucked up bits like that.

Frankly, though, I’m pleased I live here, it’s great. During the 19th and 20th century my various relatives came from England, Scotland, Ireland, Wales (and possibly Calcutta), and settled.  I’m an amalgam of a bunch  of  british types. Dad’s mother was the last to arrive, her family came out I believe in the 20s, from Scotland. I’m good peasant/worker stock, a mismash of a bunch of areas and professions. My ancestors were mostly farmers or tradies (hatters, carpenters, there was one militia, etc). I’m descended from Philip Jean, which is a personal pleasure. Painters united, and all that stuff. Lots of Jeans in Jersey still I hear.

Here is a collection of various photos of my time spent in Oz in various places around and various holidays.
Happy Australia day!

Wattle tree, on Hanging Rock, 2013

Wattle tree, on Hanging Rock, 2013

galahs on tree, at wyperfeld, 2012

galahs on tree, at wyperfeld, 2012

me at monsalvaat looking very noir, 2007?

me at monsalvaat looking very noir, 2007?

wind turbines 2012

wind turbines 2012

Wyperfeld national park, 2012

Wyperfeld national park, 2012

melbourne, from docklands

melbourne, from docklands

bolte bridge

bolte bridge

ant mound on mornington peninsula

ant mound on mornington peninsula

Melbourne view

Melbourne view

Snowy river 2013

Snowy river 2013

Uluru, or 'the rock', 2010

Uluru, or ‘the rock’, 2010

Me on the Great Vic Bike Ride 2006,  great ocean road

Me on the Great Vic Bike Ride 2006, great ocean road

Beach down flinders way, 2013

Beach down flinders way, 2013

Malvern tram depot open day, 2012

Malvern tram depot open day, 2012

The Olgas at sunset, 2010

The Olgas at sunset, 2010