Ballet Dancers

Ballet dancers

Ballet dancers

I don’t draw humans very much at all these days. I used to pretty much exclusively draw and paint humans and people – I’m somewhere between a Humanist and an Existentialist and am utterly fascinated by what other humans think and do and say (see there is a give away that I’m not an alien – I said OTHER humans).  These days of course I will do portraits in oil of people, I enjoy that – but mostly the watercolours are the monsters and weird stuff that my hand just does.  I literally start drawing and some weirdass stuff comes out.
This time, I’d just gone op shopping and bought a  book on ballet through out the ages. Starting with the Elizabethans and the french court masques from the 16th century (Catherine de Medici – now there’s a fascinating woman and massively influential historical figure!). So i had randomly a picture open of some olde school ballet dancers, and I thought “I’m gonna draw that’. So i did.

I’m not sure why the girl to the right has no eyeballs. Just turned out that way.

It was actually nice to paint with the blue. I don’t use a lot of that blue but I should, blue is pretty, for some reason I tend towards ochres and reds when I am choosing paint colours. You tend to get stuck into a set of colours and sometimes it’s hard to get out of that. 🙂