Sock Monkeys

Every now and then I cease all sensible art type work and go into a phase of making Sock Monkeys. Literally, one pair of socks, button, thread, and stuffing, and you get a monkey in about an hour (if you do the main seams on a sewing machine, other wise add another hour for hand seaming).

So i’ve been back on the monkeys over the last little bit. It’s kind of an obsession that recurs. Then when they are done I give them away (you can’t sell a monkey, that would spoil it). Most of my friends have one at this point so I’m now giving them to work people.  There are a LOT at work in the IT area. it’s a bit weird. you walk along and there are monkeys everywhere.

Today there was a give away of five completed monkeys. I mailed one off yesterday to a guy I used to work with (in another city. He’s in for a surprise tomorrow when it gets there!). Most of the people don’t know they’re getting a monkey till they get one. I know they are vaguely horrid but also super cute.

I really like it when someone doesn’t actually like the monkey much and they have to pretend to like it in case they offend me. MOST people actually do like the monkeys though.

MONKEYS

IMG_1599 IMG_1598 IMG_1597 IMG_1596 IMG_1595 IMG_1621 IMG_1620 IMG_1619 IMG_1618 IMG_1617 IMG_1616