When your picture really doesn’t do what you want it to do

The salad course

The salad course

I had this really great idea for a painting – a bunch of lions sitting around eating salad.  I also like to try different perspectives on things so I thought I’d do it from a plan view. And it needed penguin waiters, it really just did. I don’t know why this was an idea I really wanted to paint but I do think failed in the objective I had. It looks nothing like what I wanted. It just went awry, off key, it went on a runaway of MEH. It took the fail train to the destination!

On ignoring it for a few weeks and looking at it here now, it’s not as bad as all that. On the other hand – it’s not good. The nugget of the idea is there but that is all. I might salvage the idea and do it again some time. I kind of like putting penguins into things randomly. They’ve turned up a few times.

Live and learn. LIVE AND LEARN!