The neverending picture….woooahhhooohhhhooohhhhh

I went and saw the Neverending Story when I was a kid and it came out. I totally had Limahl’s song in my head for months (as distinct from Khamal’s song). Wait… I’m listening to Khamal now. He’s not half bad! Ok the song is a bit…dated. but hey. 1975 was a crazy time. You know if you go to op shops you could walk away from each of them with about 8 Khmal vinyl albums?

I digress.

A few years ago I traveled to Alice Springs and The Rock, also I went to the Olgas. I was there when it was pouring rain (the rock looks metallic silver in the rain) and there was green grass and soft colours everywhere. I hear this is really not normal. Normal for me. 100% of the time i was there it was wet!

One picture I took was this one – very pretty. This is the olgas. I don’t know what those trees were. I recall getting sunburned the day I took this though.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

See the pretty purples and soft greens? So nice.

I decided to challenge myself and give this a go as a painting.

What a horrible and yet awesomely challenging time I had with this one!

This was the neverending painting. It kept freaking going. It never looked good and never looked good and I kept thinking ‘right it’s done’ and then someone would say something like ‘hey, that’s going to look really good when it’s finished!’

Finally:

???????????????????????????????

So this is my first attempt at background rocks (the olgas), my first attempt at trying for such depth, and the first time I tried to paint a different sort of tree up close.

It was looking flat and lifeless until i did more highlights on the rock, and lightened the foreground and then put lots of dabby bits in the foreground. I also had to add purple to the trees and that made them pop a bit, with just the green/brown they were flat and lifeless. So bringing purple into the entire picture managed to make it look good.

I will try another seascape next I think. I learned a lot on this painting. It’s about 80% of where I want to be going. I suspect that like in software development, that final 20% striving for perfection is going to take up 100% of the rest of my lifetime!

 

2 responses to “The neverending picture….woooahhhooohhhhooohhhhh

  1. Hi thanks for visiting my blog and deciding to follow it. I like this painting very much. I like the colour, the light and the movement

Comments are closed.