The next thing

Since I finished the last Dinosaur painting I’ve been at a loss at to what to do next. So on the go I will always have the landscape, plus the watercolours, plus some sort of a thing I do in oil to work towards coming up with an exhibition.

What happens is that an idea pops into my head and that crystallizes and Whammo! – I know what I’m going to be doing next.

I’ve been waiting for a while now for this next thing to come along and last Friday it did.

I wanted to do action! All my most recent oils have been very passive. Landscapes are pretty passive, and all the posed royals and dinosaurs are pretty passive. I wanted to do life, colour, and movement, but in a less realistic style than my last lot. Precision is not what i’m going for here.

With that in mind i drew up two canvasses and slapped on some background colour. I will start painting on them soon.

??????????????????????????????? ???????????????????????????????

Undercoats tend to look kind of hilarious and childish until the top layers are applied – they are there to map out shapes and give a bit of backgrond colour. So go with me on this, it will come good!

After all, this

???????????????????????????????

became this

IMG_0809

which ended up as this

Henry VIII

Henry VIII

and more!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAElizabeth Rex

and finally:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA???????????????????????????????

 

2 responses to “The next thing

    • Thank you! I love Elizabethan portraits. I just added in an archypteryx and a mutterboroughsaurous for good measure 🙂

Comments are closed.