Mount Dandenong

Mount Dandenong

Mount Dandenong

This is a view of Mount Dandenong from a bit of what I think is Churchill National Park. I did this painting to get myself away from the more arid mallee type of landscape. Kind of to see how it went. I didn’t really like doing it as much cause it’s a bit…green, and a bit dull and a bit too pretty.  but I’m not upset about how it came out – it’s ok as an experiment.  Also it’s the first traditional landscape I’ve done with the multi layers and the blue mountain in the background.

The photo I based the picture on shows an open cut mine that i chose to make an earth coloured hill. It was also a lot greener than this but frankly green makes for very dull pictures and they always look horrid. Brown, on the other hand, is a great colour to use in landscape, particularly Australian Landscape. I’m quoting from something here but I cannot remember what: “Every year in the outback, the great brown comes down from the North. I tried to paint the outback once. Ran out of Brown.”

Those are not sheep in the foreground, btw. They are rocks.
Maybe I’ll paint a sheep one day to see what it’s like. I painted goats once. I do not appear to have a photo of that painting. Doh!  Goats are cool. They have devil eyes.