Landscape – grass verge

grass verge

grass verge

This is either a buloke or a sheoak in the background, rising above the small eucalyptus or tea trees. I liked this shot because it showed the soil and the edge of the sea of dry grasses. Also pleased with the sky. you can get in and fudge around with fingers or thumbs, the more random fudging, the better the sky will look, I’ve discovered.  Unlearning that skies are uniform blue with clouds in them is a big thing for learning landscape. Sky colour is all over the shop. It’s pretty excellent.

I have learned to take liberties with landscape. I never did it before and tried to reproduce what was there. For example, the sand in the photo i based this on was mostly grey, and that was very boring, it needed yellows. Also the grass had no seed heads on it, but the painting needed some texture to bring out the foreground, so I added them in. The botanist in me (three years of botany at uni makes me a little bit of a botanist…) had qualms about making the grasses wrong for the time of year and I don’t even know if these are relevant seed heads for this type of grass! –  but I pointed out to said internal botanist that the painter had right of veto in this case, and to just shut up and stop complaining.