Waves and rockpools

Wave 1

Wave 1

My first attempt at getting a curling wave to look not totally naff, also a rocky shore with lots of heaving water. Water, as it turns out, is fun to paint. I will be doing a lot more of it I think. I like this attempt. It’s very much a practice but it works out.

I have done a seascape that I don’t think is very good at all – I will post it soon, its’ drying ( I’ve not scanned it in yet). I struggled trying to put too much detail in and over did it, then scrubbed over it and lost it, then lost the plot and put more back in, then scrubbed it out again. I’ve given up. It’s not savable, though a friend did remark they liked it, so maybe it’s just that it failed to do what I wanted it to do! I really have to work out the trick of describing a shape in as little brush strokes as possible – I’m not going for photo accuracy with landscapes, nor am I going for full impressionistic. I want to create pictures that I want to sit and look at and that other people want to look at that are also not forced or over rendered.

I’m currently working on two river landscapes, and those involve quite a bit of vegetation. I’m really just not very good at getting things like shrubs to look good up close – further away, you can blob it and smoosh it and they look ok, but up front you have to pick out detail at some level, and I don’t yet know the level of detail to paint so they tend to not look real and look really rather naff.  i have yet to work out how I do it successfully on purpose. currently there is a lot of swearing as I attempt to paint the same things in the same tried-and-failed- way, so I’m going back to copies of Australian Artist and pictures of painters whose work I really like, to see how they did it.