Foggy day on the coast

Foggy day on the coast

Foggy day on the coast

This is a painting that I’m not happy with.

This is the source photo. It’s down at Philip island and whole place was blanketed in fog till about 1pm when it slowly lifted and then somewhat cleared.

IMG_2518

I tried to put too much detail into the painting – to get all the rocks and waves in, and it looked awful. I should have taken photos to show just how awful it looked. I just couldn’t make it look good – I didn’t do a good enough sketching in of where things were for the start.  The photo is pretty epic but the painting looked fussy and overdone when i made it full of white and rocks.

My attempt to fix it occurred when I stopped looking at the photo and started just trying to make it better as a painting. It  is a lot better but not i think a great success.  You can see what is going on, but the colours are not what I wanted, the structure is not what i wanted, and I just feel very cross at it for existing.