Regnans, Warburton Forest

Regnans, warburton forest

Regnans, warburton forest

My first attempt at a cool temperate forest, the sort that used to be all over Victoria before we decimated them for logging (paper is more important than trees, don’t you know). I went for a walk a few months back up at the aqueduct track past warburton, there were some pretty nice trees there, even if you can only see a tiny bit of the trunk of them. The trunks are pretty sweet, but.

One of my favorite trees when I was doing botany was Eucalyptus regans. It’s the tallest flowering plant in the tree (the redwood in CA doesn’t flower), but I have no idea what colour flower these get because they are quite tall and you can’t see them. I love the way the bark peels off in massive strips and hangs down around the base of the tree like a stocking. This one was just standing there with a pool of water behind it, looking cool.

The description of this painting by someone was that it was very ‘dabby’. I guess that is a point. It is very dabby. it’s a forest, after all, lots to dab about. I’m unsure whether I will give a forest like this another go. While I like being in them and walking, they are in effect very tedious to try and paint. I shall see, anyhoo.