Regina Rex starts tomorrow. I’m not freaking out AT ALL.

avril jean, avril e jean

the princess elizabeth

So, 24 paintings (actually 23 paintings and one embroidery) and more wine and beer than one can ever imagine drinking, were loaded into my little car today – and I drove along to Prahran rather carefully and deposited them at ArtBoy Gallery. all ready for Regina rex. I was the passenger in a car last week that had a mild collision, so I’m a bit nervous driving at the moment and I was super nervous today due to the contents of my car! Thank goodness for a hatchback, is all I can say.  Also, driving down chapel street. Trams. I used to be a conductor on those trams…. Those were the days.

Also I’ve had a tiring unpleasant feverish virus since Friday – today is the first day I’ve felt slightly human (and the first day in 5 I don’t have a fever), and I’m still a bit ‘meh’ about going out.  Also, let’s face it. I’m about 80 in my going out habits these days. I am a bit more of a stay at home person than I used to be. I yell at kids to get off my lawn. Practically, anyway. I don’t have a lawn, I have a cottage garden, and the neighborhood isn’t exaclty bustling with kids. But if i did, I’d be guarding it in a very cranky manner indeed.

But it’s all there now nice and safe. Marc (gallery owner) and I worked out the hanging order – which took a bit of doing. You think it’s going to be easy, and grouping the Elizabeth Is together was fine, also the Elizabeth IIs – but those pesky Stuarts were much darker than other pictures and it took a while to find a way to arrange them to be eye pleasing –  so there was a lot of umming and aahing about where to group and who should go together. Turned out very well indeed, I thought.  For some reason I made almost all my Elizabeth II’s have a blue background, so they group together in a really lovely manner.  I have the back chunk of the gallery, there is a tonne of other really awesome nerdy geeky stuff on the other walls too which I will have a good darn look at too when I have the time.

In the end it looked excellent and now it’s actually at the cusp of happening, I’m all excited though yes, I’m freaking out a bit too. It is mega hard to put your work out there, it’s hard for the soul.  And it’s also a lot of work to organise and see this sort of thing through – even things like putting wire on the paintings and wrapping them for transport took a whole day.  I will be relieved when its over even though I’m really pleased I’m doing it!

I will go in tomorrow first thing (for the gallery, not for me) and actually hang them  – and then it’s open for business! The opening night is Friday night and should be a total piss up, lots of people from my past and present are coming,  I hope. I must remember to buy cups or we will all be swinging wine directly from bottles – something I did in the 90s and I don’t really think is a classy thing to revisit. Many things I did in the 90s are not worth a revisit (she says thinking about her horrible second boyfriend).

So. WOOOOOOO!!!!

3 responses to “Regina Rex starts tomorrow. I’m not freaking out AT ALL.

  1. WOO! Wish I could be there. Hope it goes well!
    I yelled at a boy who was kicking dandelions in our front yard last year. He was heading straight for my pansies (not a euphemism). I told him our place isn’t a park… LOL

Comments are closed.